SCA and Class election winners announced

Student government faces unprecedented term


Carlin Conaway

SCA members stand outside the SCA workroom at Ocean Lakes. (From left to right) Michelle Zheng, Reese Thornton (president), Alan Ledezma (vice president), Kaitlyn Hertz (secretary), Naya Thompson (historian), Batool Ayaz, Nina Dao (℅ 2021 vice president).

SCA and class election winners for the 2020-21 school year were announced on Oct. 13. 

COVID-19 delayed the elections, which typically take place at the end of the school year. The student body elected Reese Thornton and Alan Ledezma as president and vice president, respectively; Kaitlyn Hertz won the secretary office and Basma Bedawi won treasurer.

Regardless of COVID-19 restrictions, leaders seek to make this unconventional year the best that it can be. Restrictions have left students unsure whether events, such as Ring dance, Prom, Graduation, and more, will take place. 

“We are planning fun events that we can hold while still being safe, and we can’t wait to share it with everyone,” said 2021 class president Michelle Pham. “I’ve contacted multiple places [for prom], and we are still deciding on which one to pick!”

While the officers face an unprecedented calendar to plan events, fundraisers, and lead assemblies, SCA hopes to work around restrictions and keep students active. 

“We’ve been meeting weekly for most of the summer and through the school year over Zoom to talk about the actions that we need to take in the current situation,” said president Reese. “Recently we just chose a hard-working group of students for our 2020-2021 executive board to help COVID-friendly events happen this school year.”

Student government hopes to provide structure for both old and new traditions.

“Students can expect for us to try lots of new mediums for events as well as the creation of possible new events. Our goal is to see how we can incorporate student involvement while at home, and make sure students feel that they are still a part of the Dolphin Family,” said Reese.

2020-2021 Student Council election winners